Carrie L. Byington, MD

Dean of the Texas A&M College of Medicine

Carrie L. Byington, MD, is a national leader in pediatrics and infectious disease and serves as Dean of the Texas A&M College of Medicine, Senior Vice President of the Texas A&M University Health Science Center and Vice Chancellor for Health Services at The Texas A&M University System. Her research has focused primarily on bacterial and viral respiratory pathogens in children and has included the development of new diagnostic technology. She has received awards from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the Association of American Medical Colleges, American Academy of Pediatrics, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the National Institutes of Health. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Inventors and the National Academy of Medicine. Dr. Byington is board certified in both General Pediatrics and Pediatric Infectious Diseases. She received a Bachelor of Science in biology from Texas A&M University and Doctor of Medicine from Baylor College of Medicine.

Gene Myers, PhD

Founding Director, Systems Biology Center, Max-Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

Gene Myers is a computer scientist and biotechnologist known for the BLAST search engine and the sequencing of the human genome. While at Celera Genomics he advocated whole genome shotgun sequencing and assembled high-quality reconstructions of the fruit fly, human, mouse, and mosquito genomes. In the 80’s Myers invented algorithms for sequence comparison and search including suffix arrays that enable the Burroughs-Wheeler transform used in today’s compact indices for genomic search. In the 90’s he created and perfected the string graph approach to DNA sequencing used at Celera. From 2005 to today, he has focused on the construction of novel microscopes and software for building single cell expression atlases across developmental epochs. Myers has been a professor at U of Arizona and UC Berkeley, a Vice President at Celera Genomics, a Group Leader with Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and currently is a Director of the Max-Planck Society. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, USA, the National Academy of Germany, and was awarded the ACM Kannellakis Prize in 2002. Gene received a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics from California Institute of Technology and a PhD in Computer Science from the University of Colorado.

George Weinstock, PhD

Director of Microbial Genomics, Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine

Dr. George Weinstock is a Professor and Director of Microbial Genomics at the Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine where he established a group devoted to genomic studies of infectious diseases and the human microbiome. Prior to joining the Jackson Laboratory, Dr. Weinstock served as Associate Director of The Genome Institute at Washington University in St. Louis. In addition he was Co-Director of the Human Genome Sequencing Center (HGSC), and Professor of Molecular and Human Genetics at Baylor College of Medicine. Dr. Weinstock received his B.S. from the University of Michigan and a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

John W.A. Rossen, PhD, MSc

Professor for Medical Microbiology, University of Groningen

Dr. John W.A. Rossen is a Professor of Medical Microbiology at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands where he currently leads the Personalized Microbiology Research Group which focuses on implementing metagenomics and metatranscriptomics in the clinical setting. He also serves as Head of the Molecular Unit. Under his leadership the group has successfully utilized next generation sequencing to detect and characterize pathogens, reveal new antibiotic resistance mechanisms, prevent infection and improve risk assessment, and to develop novel targeted diagnostic tests. In his 30 years in molecular virology and molecular microbiology, Dr. Rossen has published more than 155 peer reviewed studies. He currently serves as the secretary of the European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (ESCMID) study group for genomic and molecular diagnostics and Treasurer of the Dutch Society of Medical Microbiology.

Eddy Rubin, MD, PhD

Chief Scientific Officer, Metabiota

Eddy Rubin is a geneticist and medical researcher whose research includes a series of pioneering studies
in the field of human and microbial genomics. Dr. Rubin has published over 250 peer-reviewed
manuscripts. While serving as Director of the Department of Energy Joint Genome Institute (JGI) at the
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, his team made significant contributions to the Human Genome
Project and the sequencing and analysis of thousands of plant, fungal and microbial genomes. In 2016
Dr. Rubin joined Metabiota, a company focused on applying comprehensive risk analytics, as Chief
Scientific Officer to help organizations understand and mitigate infectious disease risk. Dr. Rubin
received a Bachelor of Arts in Physics from the University of California San Diego and his MD and a PhD
in Biophysics from the University of Rochester. He completed his medical residency in pediatrics, and
his clinical training in Human Genetics at the University of California San Francisco.

Alan T. Wright, MD, MPH

Chief Medical Officer, Roche Diagnostics

Alan Wright is the Chief Medical Officer at Roche Diagnostics Corporation. Prior to joining Roche, Dr.
Wright served as Senior Vice President of Health Improvement at Miraca Life Sciences where he directed
managed care and reimbursement strategy and created an enterprise-wide regulatory and advocacy
strategy. Before joining Miraca, Dr.Wright held executive management positions in the health insurance,
pharmaceutical and pharmacy benefit management industries. Dr. Wright received a Bachelor of
Science in Pre-medicine from Penn State University, an MD from the University of Pennsylvania School
of Medicine and a Master of Public Health from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.